Singapore Government
Font size

No results found.

Home / FOREIGN POLICY / International Organisations / G20



The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 20 major advanced and emerging economies (19 countries plus the European Union). The first G20 Summit was held in Washington in November 2008, and was convened by the US in response to the emerging financial crisis then. Subsequent G20 Summits have been held in London (April 2009), Pittsburgh (September 2009), Toronto (June 2010), Seoul (November 2010), Cannes (November 2011), Los Cabos (June 2012), St Petersburg (September 2013), Brisbane (November 2014), Antalya (November 2015), Hangzhou (September 2016), and Hamburg (July 2017).

Singapore, although not a G20 member, has been invited to participate in the G20 Summits and its related processes in 2010 and 2011 and from 2013 to 2018. Singapore has usually been invited as a representative of the Global Governance Group (3G). The 3G is an informal grouping of 30 small and medium-sized countries, which aims to promote greater transparency and inclusivity in the G20 process by encouraging stronger linkages between the G20 and the broader UN membership. Singapore was invited to the G20 meetings in 2018 in our capacity as the ASEAN Chair.


Argentina holds the 2018 G20 Presidency, with the theme of “Building Consensus for Fair and Sustainable Development”. As part of its G20 Presidency, Argentina is hosting 12 Ministerial Meetings this year, including the G20 Foreign Ministers Meeting in Buenos Aires from 20 to 21 May 2018 which was attended by Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Vivian Balakrishnan. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will participate in the G20 Buenos Aires Summit from 30 November to 1 December 2018.

More information can be found on the official G20 website.


Travel Page